Flames, Robbie Arnott

$12.50

Out of stock

SKU: 9781925603521 Categories: ,

Description

‚Ä¢ Two siblings traverse the southern island to try to find their way back to each other in this tale about grief and love and the bonds of family ‚Ä¢ Charlotte and Levi McAllister are trying to cope with the death, reincarnation and swift second demise of their mother. Their grief takes them in opposite directions in a world of wild and strange things ‚Ä¢ Robbie Arnott is a striking new voice in Australian fiction and was named one of Sydney Morning Herald’s Best Young Australian Novelists in 2019 ‚Ä¢ Flames has sold over 5K copies in previous formats and has been widely praised since its release ‚Ä¢ Coming from a long tradition of novelists exploring landscape in their writing, Robbie’s is an unconventional take on island life ‚Ä¢ Inspired by real people and events such as the Tasmanian naturalist Deny King and the Launceston floods of 2016, Flames is utterly original and captivating in its description of the natural world, and its celebration of the power of language ‚Ä¢ A slim yet ambitious, immersive and enjoyable debut novel that plays with form and style in a way not seen before ‚Ä¢ For fans of Richard Flanagan, Jennifer Egan and George Saunders

Additional information

Weight 400 g